Creating an adventure game step by step - part 4

Hi all,

It’s been too long since my previous update but I am still learning Pascal and using CGE so things are going slowly (but still they go).
At least up until now I still succeed in transferring my ideas to code.
:wink:

I have put a new video (link below).
What I have added since the previous one:

1. Game time clock. You can see it running bottom right screen. Yes, it is going really fast, a game minute should last about a real second.
    The use: Screen will become dark when it is becoming evening and night and so on, game happenings will place at certain time, NPC characters will have a time based agenda etc.

2. Conversations.
    a. Narrator text will show in the middle of the screen when there is something happening
    b. NPC text will show up with every close up of NPC. Their texts are in textfiles and are read back with TStringList. With a certain “key word” on a line another NPC closeup (Transform) is triggered.

3. Acts
    All you see in this video is automatically performed; there is no user input since it is an introduction.
    It goes through a sequence of ‘Act’ procedures.

4. Decreasing speed of the speedboat as it reaches shore.
    Increasing and decreasing speed is in a separate procedure so I can use it again for other moving stuff (the landrover on second screen).

Things to do:
The ocean water is going “under” the beach. It should go over the beach and then flowing back.
I don’t know how to achieve this. It would be nice to get the effect by code. I noticed Michalis working on water but is this only for 3D? How can I use this in my 2D environment?

The original animation is going smoothly but while recording it became a bit jerky (the boat movement).
Sorry for that.

If you have any comment or suggestions on improving I would like to hear them. Thanks!

Nice progress, thank you for sharing!